Voting in local government elections is now compulsory

Recent amendments to the Local Government Act 1993 have made voting in local government elections now compulsory for all electors on the State roll. Elections are conducted by postal ballot to fill councillor, mayor and deputy mayor positions for all 29 local councils statewide. Under the changes, ballots have been simplified and electors are now only required to number a minimum of boxes 1-5 (unless fewer than five are to be elected). The voting period opens
on Monday 3 October and will close at 2pm on Tuesday 25 October. Electoral rolls close on Thursday 8 September – it’s a good idea to check your details are correct if you have recently moved or you are registering to vote for the first time.

For more information visit the TEC website at