Tough day at office for under 18s and reserves finals


AT the recent  Southern Football League grand final day  Brighton had both its under 18s and Reserves teams facing off against teams from Claremont in what we knew was going to be some tough football.

The under 18s got off to a nervous start, despite some great play by Jakob Best, Mithcell Jakubiszyn, Jeremy Trinder, Ryan Jones and Jordan Percey, they went down 16.6.102 – 6.9.45.Our Reserves team led at every break but got overrun in the final quarter to lose 9.10.64 – 5.4.34. Joe Smith, Anthony Dillon, Tim Boucher, Chris Blackaby, Wade Booth and Adam Whitford were stand out players on the day.

The annual William Leitch medal for the SFL Best and Fairest was held last month with  Brighton Football Club recipients receiving five awards. Jordan Percy placed fith with 15 votes for the Lipscombe Medal for the Under 18s. Adam Whitford won the George Watt medal for the Reserves with 31 votes. Cal Daly placed second with 24 votes for the William Leitch medal for the Seniors.

Chris Goodluck was presented with a leadership award and Sam Coetzee was presented with a volunteer award.

In the Club’s best and fairest count the following were winners and runners up for season 2016:

Under 18s: Jack Adams 100 votes, Trent Rogers 87 votes. Reserves: Adam Whitford 145 votes, Troy Branch 87 votes. Seniors: Cal Daly 168 votes and Shaun Stewart 75 votes

To keep up with what is happening at the Club or to contact us like our Facebook page – Brighton Robins Football Club (961 members) or email

PO Box 61 Brighton Tas 7030.

 *Leesa Shaw is Brighton Football club secretary